Alternatives in Spherescapism. Forays into Platinum/Palladium Printing.

As many of you know I am as obsessed with making images as I am making images. I make my living off selling my work as Pigmented (inkjet) prints, but I love alternative photo process. I have always felt let down by inkjet printing, not because of quality mind you, but because it is so easy to create something that is perfect and beautiful. Thats the problem, it’s to easy.. Push a button and bang, in 5 minutes you have an archival print on museum quality paper. It’s to flippin easy!! I think you get the point. Anyhoo, for the longest time I have been wanting to experiment with the Spherescape series  and try various alt processes with them. I chose Platinum/Palladium as my first adventure. For  those of you who don’t know, the Pt/Pd process goes way back to the 19th century, it is the most archival and unfortunately the most expensive of all the photo processes. Basically you have 3 solutions, a sensitizer, contrast control, and your platinum/palladium. You dispense each solution with a eye dropper into a shot glass. You then pour the contents onto your paper and quickly brush it out. When the paper dries you put it and a negative into a contact printer, expose it to uv light, develop it, clear it, rinse it, and dry it. So here are a couple images of prints I made this weekend along with a little behind the scenes action.

Clearing Bath

Clearing Bath

Exposing the Negative

Exposing the Negative

Pt/Pd print on Arches Platine

Pt/Pd print on Arches Platine

Pt/Pd print on Arches Platine

Pt/Pd print on Arches Platine

Leave a Reply

