Did You Say Gelatin?

I know, I know, I’ve been a very bad blogger. It has been quite the while since my last post… Months you might say. I have spent the majority of my hiatus adjusting to making a living off my photography. Not easy to do, especially with the current state of the economy. On a more positive note I have been spending a great deal of time learning and perfecting some cool new processes. That brings us to the subject of this blog. Gelatin.. It can be tasty.. It can be fun to throw at unsuspecting passers by.. A less known fact is that it is amazing at facilitating the transfer of images onto numerous substrates.  My personal favorite are wood painting panels. As a final presentation solution they are as unique as they are impressive. There is so much you can with the wood before making the transfer. That, however, will have to be the subject of another blog. What I have done (as sort of a mia culpa) is to make a short video showing the process I do from beginning to end.. Well almost the end.. I do have to keep some things secret! As a side note, the Flip Video camera and iMovie make one hell of a team. I hope you enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Did You Say Gelatin?

  1. this is just a great post, thanks for sharing. One question from a novice. Whats the best acetate to print on? Is there a particular printer that works best? Thanks again for sharing.

  2. do you let the gelatin dry before applying the acetate image on?

    what solvent do you use to separate the image from the acetate?

    what kind of acetate do you use to print on?

  3. Thanks for the interesting post showing an unusual process. What kind of gelatin are you using? Do you let it dry? How did you make the acetate image?

    Thanks for you response.

Leave a Reply

